Psalm 20 – A Poem

Monet Waterlilies 1914

I wrote this poem a long time ago. I spent a lot of time by a pond in Illinois, in a park that was restored to a natural prairie around the pond.

That’s where I first saw the herons.  It still feels like a gift from Heaven when I see them.  And I still read the Psalms.

Psalm 20

There are days
when everything seems a metaphor . . .
I persist with a bottle of salad dressing
that won’t open
Touch the childhood scar on my forehead
now blended with a wrinkle
Am comforted by cards and letters
sent at just the right time
Gaze at the blue heron who stayed
long into the Fall
And marvel at the migrating monarchs
on their way.

I ponder the limits of persistence
for the heron left one day
And feel wounds aging into wisdom
although scars do stay
Recognize “help from the sanctuary”
and read Psalm 20 once again
In wonder at these days when
everything seems a metaphor . . .

New dreams were growing all along
And would be tested true
I finally flew to embrace them too.

* * *

Published first in Midwest Poetry Review (October 1994).

Claude Monet, Waterlilies 1914, is courtesy of Dover Publications.  From 120 Great Paintings.