Deeper Places – poem of recovery and hope

DEEPER PLACES

I want to live
in the deeper places

where flowers
always get to bloom
at their appointed time

and are loved as much
weathered and dormant
and covered with snow

I want to live
in the deeper places

where loss is felt
tears are cried and
night becomes a friend

and then loss
dies too
new life arrives again

Oh, I want to live
in the deeper places

Published in Time of Singing (2003); Bell’s Letters Poet (2004, 2009); The Discerning Poet (2004); Blogging Along Tobacco Road (2009).  This poem also received the Raymond Flory Explorer Award (2010) and the Eve Jeannette Blohm Award (2010).  The images are courtesy of antiqueclipart.com.

I began my first blog with this poem in December 2009.  http://www.ellenolinger.wordpress.com

Thank you, Ellen