Two poems about lilacs – by Charles A. Waugaman and Ellen Grace Olinger

flower-pictures-2

Editor and friend to many, Charles A. Waugaman, lived on earth from 1932 – 2010.  I enjoy introducing his art to new readers.

This is one of his poems from Welcoming Hope: Poems for those in need.

Planting with Hope

I worked because I hoped for coming rain.
The dry earth by itself could woo no growth
From seeds entrusted to its dusty care,
But there was still tomorrow,
Damp with hope.

I lingered for the lilacs were in bloom.
Great plumes of purple watched me as I raked
Prompting my trust, inspiring my desire
And there was still tomorrow,
Primed with hope.

I labored where the waves of scented wind
Embraced me, and continuing till dusk,
Thinned the rich air with freshened cool delight,
For there would be tomorrow’s
Rain, I hoped.

By Charles A. Waugaman

Welcoming Hope: Poems for those in need (2007, Elin Grace Publishing).

I edited this non-profit book with Lora Homan Zill, current editor of TIME OF SINGING (TOS).  http://timeofsinging.com

If you are interested, you can see a picture of the cover and list of the poets on the books page at the TOS site. Charles, the Art Editor for Welcoming Hope, created the cover and illustrated the book.  He was the editor of TOS, when I began subscribing many years ago.

My poem in this book is a tanka:

November
few leaves
left on the lilac
living with
your loss

The lilacs have bloomed many times, once again, since then. 

flower-pictures-2Lilacs: Karen’s Whimsy.

Charles’ poem also appeared in TOS, May 1989.

My poem also appeared in Hermitage, A Haiku Journal, 2006.
Edited by Ion Codrescu.